Skip to main content

Alumni Logo (003)637499724570168087


Alumni Board of Directors

Martha McCoy - Ottawa, KS         (President)
Vivian Rowan - Chanute, KS         (Vice President)
Craig Reaves - Chanute, KS (Secretary)
Sarah Cadwallader - Chanute, KS     (Treasurer)
Kim Barnes - Lawrence, KS  
Melissa Churning - Sioux Falls, SD  
Nikki Jacobs - Chanute, KS  
Linda Jones - Chanute, KS  
Dr. Alex Mih - Chanute, KS  
Sharon Reaves - Chanute, KS  
Brenda Rowe - Chanute, KS  
Dwight Smith - Humboldt, KS  
Sarah Smith - Humboldt, KS  

Alumni Association Minutes

If you would like to see what our Alumni Association is up to please feel free to read the minutes of our last meeting.   

May 2021
February 2020


The Alumni Association is proud to distribute two esteemed awards annually.  Individuals receiving these awards are chosen through an extensive nomination process and are recognized for their support of Neosho County Community College, the Mission & Vision and the future of our community.  

Distinguished Alum

The Neosho County Community College Distinguished Alumni is an award given to a single individual that has paved the way for future alumni.  This individual has supported the college after graduating from NCCC and has become and leader in their respective profession and community.  The Distinguished Alumni award is an exceptional honor and is generally the Key Note Speaker at our Commencement ceremony at the end of the academic year.  

 The Distinguished Alumni for 2021 is Dr. Cathy Mih Taylor of Chanute, KS.  


Dr. Cathy Mih-Taylor is a Chanute native. Her father, the late Dr. Alex Mih was a community physician for 30 years. Her mother Mariam Mih was a teacher and board member of NCCC for decades.

Cathy graduated from NCCC in 1977. She was active in vocal and instrumental music and Women’s tennis and volleyball.

She transferred to the University of Kansas and pursued a degree in Biology and was a marching Jayhawk.

She completed her Doctor of medicine degree in 1983 at Kansas University School of Medicine and completed her Residency in Obstetrics and Gynecology at Tulane University and Charity Hospital in New Orleans.

She married Larry Taylor in 1980 and this year will celebrate 41 years together.

They moved back to Chanute in 1987 to be close to family and raise their 3 children in a supportive small town environment.

The family has been active in Chanute Community Theatre, Neosho County 4-H and The First Christian church.

Cathy started her medical practice in obstetrics and gynecology in 1987 and continues in full time practice today at the Neosho Memorial Women’s Center. So far she has delivered over 8000 babies in southeast Kansas and performed more than 4000 surgeries.

She has also been a Board Member of Blue Cross Blue Shield of KS for 13 years. 

She has been a preceptor for the University Of Kansas School of medicine for 20 years, hosting medical students on the practice of rural medicine and winning the preceptor excellence award in 2013.

Congratulations Cathy! We welcome you to the long list of Distinguished Alumni at Neosho County Community College. 


Heritage Family

The Neosho County Community College Heritage Family is an award given to a family who has shown great support of the college through multiple means.  This distinguished awarded has been given since 2011 and honors some of the amazing individuals who have helped grow the foundation NCCC prides itself on. 

The NCCC Heritage Family for 2021 is the Michael DeLaTorre Family of Chanute, KS. 

DeLaTorre Family 6

DeLaTorre Family 1

The NCCC Alumni Association is proud to announce the Michael DeLaTorre family of Chanute as the 2021 Heritage Family.  

This honorable award has been given since 2011 and is awarded to a family who has shown great support of the college, helping grow the foundation NCCC prides itself on.  

The DeLaTorre family has a long line of family members that have attended NCCC starting with Mike and his wife Anita (Anita Rhea) who graduated from NCCC in 1969.  Both went on to attend Pittsburg State University.  Mike and Anita have three children, Jeffrey, Christopher and Brian. 

Jeff and his wife Angie attended NCCC and played sports for the Panthers.  Jeff played Baseball and Angie was a dual-athlete in Softball and Volleyball.  Jeff and Angie have two sons, Kaleb and Jacob. 

Kaleb graduated from NCCC in 2018 playing for the Panther Baseball team and is now in his senior year at the University of South Alabama majoring in Physical Therapy. 

Mike and Anita both give back to the Chanute community selflessly and are true supporters of the college. 

The NCCC Alumni Association and the NCCC Endowment Foundation would like to congratulate the DeLaTorre family and thank them for their dedication to NCCC. 



*The Neosho County Community College Foundation is a 501c3 non-for-profit organization.